Senator Cheryl Kagan Endorses David Blair for County Executive

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: February 23, 2022

Rockville, Md., Feb. 23, 2022 -- Senator Cheryl Kagan, a leading state legislator representing Gaithersburg and Rockville, has endorsed David Blair for Montgomery County Executive.

Kagan has passed landmark laws to help nonprofits; improve the state’s 9-1-1 emergency response system; protect the environment; and is Vice Chair of the Senate Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs Committee. She has earned a reputation as a strong representative for her District 17 constituents and as a leader on public safety, consumer protection, transportation, government transparency, and many other important issues.

“David Blair will bring a common sense approach to revitalizing our economy by supporting our businesses and nonprofits as they work to recover from the pandemic,” Kagan said. “He has a proven track record of advocating for top-notch education for all students. I’ve seen his commitment to making a difference, and I am confident that he will provide the collaborative and compassionate leadership we need from our next County Executive.”

“Senator Kagan is an inspiration and a mentor. I’m grateful for her leadership and her support,” Blair said. “Her record of solving problems and fighting for the things we value -- education, the environment, women’s rights, access to voting, and much more -- is an extraordinary model. I look forward to serving our community alongside Senator Kagan.”

For the past eight years, Kagan has represented Gaithersburg and Rockville in the Senate and previously represented these communities in the House. She was named “2019 Legislator of the Year Award” by the Maryland League of Conservation Voters; honored by the Maryland State Firemen’s Association with both the 2019 and 2020 Senator William H. Amoss Memorial Legislative Award; and recognized for her leadership as the first-ever Legislative Champion by Maryland Nonprofits.

The Democratic Primary for County Executive will be June 28, 2022. Early Voting will run from June 16 through June 23, 2022.

VIDEO: Senator Cheryl Kagan endorses David Blair for Montgomery County Executive